missioner of the R.C.M.P. and former Chief of the General Staff. Mar. 8, Peter Sinclair, Ottawa, Ont., M.P. for Queens, P.E.I. Mar. 14, Engineer Lieutenant-Commander Charles S. Stephen, Ottawa, Ont., Technical Adviser, Marine Section, R.C.M.P. Mar. 20, Hon. Martin Burrell, P.C., Ottawa, Ont., Parliamentary Librarian. Mar. 23, Hon. Walter Scott, Guelph, Ont., former M.P. for Assiniboia, and first premier of Saskatchewan. Mar. 25, Hon. A. E. Fripp, Ottawa, Ont., Senator for Ottawa. Apr. 7, Hon. Norman Scarth Macdonnell, Toronto, Ont., Justice of Supreme Court of Ontario, Appellate Division. Apr. 14, Levi Thomson, K.C., Regina, Sask., former M.P. for Qu'Appelle. May 3, Major Frederick C. Betts, Mayo, Que., M.P. for London, Ont. May 6, Duke of Devonshire, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., Baslow, Derbyshire, England, Governor General of Canada, 1916-21. June 3, Alexander McKay Edwards, Galt, Ont., M.P. for Waterloo South. Hon. Hugh Ross, Halifax, N.S., Justice of the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia. June 5, Hon. Morrison M. MacBride, Brantford, Ont., Minister of Labour for Ontario. May 29, Thos. F. Sutherland, Toronto, Ont., Deputy Minister of Mines for Ontario. May 31, William Jackson, Port Stanley, Ont., former M.P. for West Elgin.

## Section 4.—Extracts from the Canada Gazette—Official Appointments, Commissions, etc.\*

Lieutenant-Governors, 1937.—Nov. 23, Albert Matthews, Esq., LL.D., Toronto, Ont.: to be Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Ontario from Nov. 30, 1937.

Senators, 1938.—Jan. 20, Norman Platt Lambert, Ottawa, Ont.; Duncan McLean Marshall, Toronto, Ont.

New Members of the House of Commons, 1937.—Oct. 18, Matthew Mac-Lean, elected for Cape Breton North-Victoria, N.S. Nov. 1, Angus Neil McCallum, elected for Frontenac-Addington, Ont. Nov. 8, Hon. William Earl Rowe, elected for Dufferin-Simcoe, Ont. Nov. 29, Robert Wellington Mayhew, elected for Victoria, B.C. Dec. 27, Joseph N. Francoeur, elected for Lotbinière, Que. 1938.— Jan. 17, Joseph A. Bonnier, elected for St. Henry, Que. Feb. 21, Allan G. McAvity, elected for St. John-Albert, N.B. Feb. 28, Georges Héon, elected for Argenteuil, Que. Mar. 21, Orvis A. Kennedy, elected for Edmonton East, Alta. Apr. 25, James Lester Douglas, elected for Queens, P.E.I.

Honorary Aides-de-Camp, 1937.—His Excellency the Governor General has been pleased to make the following appointments, viz.: Nov. 13, Lieut.-Col. A. E. Nash, M.C., the Governor General's Horse Guards. 1938.—Apr. 1, Lieut.-Col. P. Flynn, Royal 22e Regiment, vice Lieut.-Col. G. E. A. Dupuis, M.C. Apr. 5, Lieut.-Col. W. G. H. Wurtele, M.C., V.D., the Governor General's Foot Guards, vice Lieut.-Col. G. G. Chrysler, M.C., V.D.

Official Appointments, 1937.—June 24, Hon. John Alexander Mathieson, Chief Justice of Prince Edward Island, appointed Administrator of the Government of the Province of Prince Edward Island from Apr. 10 to June 10, 1937, to continue as Administrator up to and including June 17, 1937. Sir Frederick Banting, Banting Institute, Department of Medical Research, University of Toronto; Professor E. F. Burton, Head of the Department of Physics, University of Toronto; W. R. Campbell, General Manager, Ford Motor Company of Canada, Ltd.; Professor R. H. Clark, Head of the Department of Chemistry, University of British Columbia; Professor E. P. Fetherstonhaugh, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Architecture, University of Manitoba: to be Members of the National Research Council for a

<sup>\*</sup> This list is in continuance of that at pp. 1095-1105 of the 1937 Year Book.